Browse Programs

Exploring a Forgotten World:Social History of Medieval Jewry in the Cairo Geniza

Thursday, 01-16-2020
10:30 AM to 12:00 PM
MJCCA Zaban Park •

 

 

This course will reveal how a collection of worn-out scraps, fragments of texts and other manuscripts and documents more than 1,000 years old open an otherwise hidden era of history. We will learn the story of the Genizah (a storeroom for timeworn sacred manuscripts and documents), as well as examine selected contents of the Genizah. Through translations of the original texts, the course will explore the daily lives and behaviors of Jewish men, women and families living along the Mediterranean during the Middle Ages.

Instructor: Dr. Shelley Buxbaum

PRICE:
Member $230.00
Non-Member $355.00
Open to the Community

SCHEDULE:
Thursday, January 16, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, January 23, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, January 30, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, February 6, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, February 13, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, February 20, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, February 27, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, March 5, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, March 12, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday, March 19, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM

Details
Contact Info
Register
No REGISTER or RSVP option? Use CONTACT INFORMATION resources above to check program availability.

clientuploads/200-width/logo-AffiliateJFGA.jpg    

The MJCCA’s Inclusion Program strives to provide the necessary accommodations and flexibility for youth who require additional support so they may access the transformative opportunities available at the MJCCA. Our Inclusion Team collaborates with parents, educators, and staff to determine if successful program placement is possible. These youth and their families are then supported by our Inclusion Team through program accommodations and may also receive individualized assistance. Click here for more information.