Browse Programs

Melton: Star and the Crescent

Tuesdays, 08-21-2018 (15 sessions)
8:00 AM to 9:00 AM
Atlanta Jewish Academy •

 

 

Jews and Muslims have co-existed, at times peacefully, at times contentiously, for more than a millennium. What do they share in common? What are the sources of tension and conflict between Judaism and Islam? In order to delve successfully into these questions, it is necessary to unglue ourselves from a twenty-first century perception that presumes the relationship between Muslims and Jews to be one of perpetual strife and mutual antagonism. In this course, students will discover what it was like for a Jew to be living in a Muslim country during the first thousand years after the founding of Islam, and what were the factors that ultimately brought that largely peaceful experience to an end?
Instructor: Judy Stolovitz

PRICE:
Price: $210.00
Open to the Community

SCHEDULE:
Tuesday, August 21, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Tuesday, August 28, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Tuesday, September 4, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Tuesday, October 9, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Tuesday, October 16, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Tuesday, October 23, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Tuesday, October 30, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Tuesday, November 6, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Tuesday, November 13, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Tuesday, November 20, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Tuesday, November 27, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Tuesday, December 4, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Tuesday, December 11, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Tuesday, December 18, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM
Tuesday, January 8, 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM

register
Details
Contact Info
Register
– ONLINE
No REGISTER or RSVP option? Use CONTACT INFORMATION resources above to check program availability.

clientuploads/200-width/logo-AffiliateJFGA.jpg