Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
or Esc

Melton Between the Lines – From Texts to Life

view options Jewish texts have informed Jewish thought and practice for over 3,000 years. But how do we connect to words written so long ago? What do they reveal today? And how do they inspire action? In this course, we will examine the many ways that we bring the words of our texts into our daily lives. We’ll look at the hints and clues in the letters of sacred Jewish texts: the Torah, the Prophets, the Talmud (no previous Hebrew knowledge required). We’ll exam structure and authorship. We’ll discuss the commentary of yesterday. We’ll share where we stand today. Dive into a sea of knowledge.
Lesson 1 - A Learned People: Connecting through Jewish Texts
Lesson 2 - Depths of Learning: The Roots of Jewish Texts
Lesson 3 - Who Wrote the Torah: Why Does It Matter?
Lesson 4 - From Text to Context: The Evolution of Jewish Practice
Lesson 5 - Open Your Hand and Your Heart: Tracing Jewish Values from Text to Life
Lesson 6 - Mussar and Middot: Ethics, Character Traits, and Being a Good Jew
Instructor at MJCCA: Judy Stolovitz
Instructor at Shearith Israel: Rabbi Melvin Sirner
Instructor at Bnai Torah: Talya Gorsetman
Instructor at Congregation Ohr Hatorah: Talya Gorsetman. *If you are not a member of Congregation Ohr Hatorah, please email brillinstitute@atlantajcc.org for pricing of this course
date time location fee age code
date Melton Between the Lines - From Texts to Life
Thursdays, 10.13.2022 - 12.01.2022 (6 sessions)
time 11:00 am - 12:30 pm
location Congregation B'nai Torah fee $135.00
Open to the Community
age 18 - 120 Years code #50578 Continue to Registration
Schedule
Thursday, October 13, 11:00 am - 12:30 pm
Thursday, October 20, 11:00 am - 12:30 pm
Thursday, November 3, 11:00 am - 12:30 pm
Thursday, November 10, 11:00 am - 12:30 pm
Thursday, November 17, 11:00 am - 12:30 pm
Thursday, December 1, 11:00 am - 12:30 pm
date Melton Between the Lines - From Texts to Life
Mondays, 11.14.2022 - 12.26.2022 (6 sessions)
time 10:00 am - 11:30 am
location Congregation Ohr Hatorah fee $80.00
Open to the Community
age 18 - 120 Years code #50621 Continue to Registration
Schedule
Monday, November 14, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Monday, November 21, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Monday, November 28, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Monday, December 5, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Monday, December 12, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Monday, December 26, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
date Melton Between the Lines - From Texts to Life
Wednesdays, 11.30.2022 - 01.18.2023 (6 sessions)
time 10:00 am - 11:30 am
location MJCCA Zaban Park fee Member $135.00
Community $160.00
age 18 - 120 Years code #50584 Continue to Registration
Schedule
Wednesday, November 30, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Wednesday, December 7, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Wednesday, December 14, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Wednesday, December 21, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Wednesday, January 11, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Wednesday, January 18, 10:00 am - 11:30 am