Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
or Esc

Melton: Biblical Women: Emerging from the Margins through Midrash

view options Tracing major female figures of the Bible through classic and modern midrashic commentary, we meet a dazzling line up of more than a dozen biblical heroines — some you may know and some you may have never heard of! Let’s go behind the scenes to gain multiple perspectives on their lives, relationships, and choices, as we understand their roles in Jewish history and literature as full, well-rounded characters.
Lesson 1 – Biblical Women and Midrash: An Introduction
Lesson 2 – Chavah: Choice and Destiny
Lesson 3 – Sarah: Hidden and Revealed
Lesson 4 – Lot’s Wife and Daughters: Mortality and Eternity
Lesson 5 – Rivkah: Continuity and Rupture
Lesson 6 – Rachel and Leah: Sisters and Rivals
Lesson 7 – Serach bat Asher: Memory and Invention
Lesson 8 – Women of the Exodus: Resistance and Revelation
Lesson 9 – Devorah: Prophecy and Power
Lesson 10 – Chanah: Anguish and Grace
Instructor: Talya Gorsetman












date time location fee age code
date Melton: Biblical Women: Emerging from the Margins through Midrash
Mondays, 03.27.2023 - 06.19.2023 (10 sessions)
time 10:00 am - 11:30 am
location Congregation B'nai Torah fee $240.00
Open to the Community
age 18 - 120 Years code #52100 Continue to Registration
Schedule
Monday, March 27, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Monday, April 17, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Monday, April 24, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Monday, May 1, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Monday, May 8, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Monday, May 15, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Monday, May 22, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Monday, June 5, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Monday, June 12, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Monday, June 19, 10:00 am - 11:30 am