Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
or Esc

Melton: Biblical Women: Emerging from the Margins through Midrash

view options In this ten-lesson course, learners will delve into reading classical and modern midrash, exploring some of the major female figures of the Bible, and gaining multiple perspectives on their characters, relationships, and choices. By utilizing the midrash’s strategy that reads texts very closely, the “behind the scenes” will be uncovered—clarifying issues that are seemingly unaddressed in the biblical text but can be found when looking for textual hints. Learners will discover how the form and content of midrash changes as contemporary writers and artists add their interpretations to ancient traditions. In the fertile ground of midrashic study, these biblical women emerge from the margins of the biblical text becoming full characters whose legacies guide and inspire.
This class is presented in partnership with Congregation Bnai Torah.
Instructor: Rabbi Pamela Gottfried
date time location fee age code
date Melton Biblical Women Emerging from the Margins through Midrash
Tuesdays, 01.11.2022 - 03.15.2022 (10 sessions)
time 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
location Virtual fee $225.00
Open to the Community
age 18 - 120 Years code #48164 Continue to Registration
Schedule
Tuesday, January 11, 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Tuesday, January 18, 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Tuesday, January 25, 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Tuesday, February 1, 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Tuesday, February 8, 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Tuesday, February 15, 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Tuesday, February 22, 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Tuesday, March 1, 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Tuesday, March 8, 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Tuesday, March 15, 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm