Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
or Esc

Melton: Ethics of Jewish Living

view options How do Jewish teachings shed light on contemporary issues such as the environment, inter-personal relationships, end-of-life decisions, and stem-cell research? This course explores the wisdom of ancient and modern rabbis, scholars and thinkers, offering multiple Jewish approaches to conducting our lives in the communal and private spheres.
Topics include: Sexuality and the Institution of Marriage; Ethics in Marriage & Divorce; Fertility Treatment; Abortion; Gender Fluidity; Euthanasia and End-of-Life Decisions; Artificial Intelligence (AI); Ransoming Captives; Jewish War Ethics; and much more.
Both Congregation Etz Chaim and Congregation Shearith Israel will be partnering with us to present this wonderful course.
Melton: Ethics at Congregation Etz Chaim: This 15-week course is Part 1 of a two-year course. Please contact Congregation Etz Chaim for registration and for pricing information: www.etzchaim.net/event/meltonjewishliving.
Instructor: Rabbi Daniel Dorsch


Melton: Ethics at Congregation Shearith Israel: If you are interested in attending the class and are not a member of Congregation Shearith Israel, or for information about pricing for two people in the same household who wish to share a book, please contact Brill.Institute@atlantajcc.org. This course is divided in to three 10-week sessions and you may sign up for each part individually or for the entire course. Instructor: Rabbi Melvin Sirner
date time location fee age code
date Melton Ethics of Jewish Living Part 1
Wednesdays, 08.25.2021 - 12.01.2021 (10 sessions)
time 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
location Congregation Shearith Israel fee $140.00
Open to the Community
age 18 - 120 Years code #47611 Continue to Registration
Schedule
Wednesday, August 25, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, September 1, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, October 6, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, October 13, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, October 20, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, October 27, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, November 3, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, November 10, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, November 17, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, December 1, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
date Melton Ethics of Jewish Living Parts 1,2 & 3
Wednesdays, 08.25.2021 - 05.25.2022 (30 sessions)
time 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
location Jewish Life & Learning REV fee $410.00
Open to the Community
age 18 - 120 Years code #47610 Continue to Registration
Schedule
Wednesday, August 25, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, September 1, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, October 6, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, October 13, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, October 20, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, October 27, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, November 3, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, November 10, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, November 17, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, December 1, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, December 8, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, December 15, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, January 5, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, January 12, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, January 19, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, January 26, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, February 2, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, February 9, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, February 16, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, February 23, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, March 2, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, March 9, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, March 23, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, March 30, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, April 6, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, April 27, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, May 4, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, May 11, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, May 18, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, May 25, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
date Melton Ethics of Jewish Living Year 1
Sundays, 10.24.2021 - 04.10.2022 (15 sessions)
time 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
location Congregation Etz Chaim fee Contact Congregation Etz Chaim for pricing age 18 - 120 Years code #48033 Continue to Registration
Schedule
Sunday, October 24, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunday, October 31, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunday, November 7, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunday, November 14, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunday, December 5, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunday, December 12, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunday, January 9, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunday, January 23, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunday, January 30, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunday, February 6, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunday, February 27, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunday, March 13, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunday, March 20, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunday, March 27, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunday, April 3, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Sunday, April 10, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
date Melton Ethics of Jewish Living Part 2
Wednesdays, 12.08.2021 - 02.23.2022 (10 sessions)
time 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
location Congregation Shearith Israel fee $140.00
Open to the Community
age 18 - 120 Years code #47612 Continue to Registration
Schedule
Wednesday, December 8, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, December 15, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, January 5, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, January 12, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, January 19, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, January 26, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, February 2, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, February 9, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, February 16, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, February 23, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
date Melton Ethics of Jewish Living Part 3
Wednesdays, 03.02.2022 - 05.25.2022 (10 sessions)
time 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
location Congregation Shearith Israel fee $140.00
Open to the Community
age 18 - 120 Years code #47613 Continue to Registration
Schedule
Wednesday, March 2, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, March 9, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, March 23, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, March 30, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, April 6, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, April 27, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, May 4, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, May 11, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, May 18, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wednesday, May 25, 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm