Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
or Esc

Melton: The Star and the Crescent: A History of Jewish-Muslim Relations

view options The current friction often felt between Muslims and Jews was not always the norm throughout history. Following the emergence of Islam, it was far better to be Jewish in a Muslim country than in a Christian one, and often, people of both faiths have found ways to coexist peacefully and productively. In this course, we’ll delve into this history and prior periods of enmity to gain a more nuanced perspective. Over ten sessions, we’ll examine the commonalities between Jewish and Islamic culture, as well as the sources of tension between these two monotheistic communities, challenging our assumptions and broadening our understanding.
Instructor: Dr. Shelley Buxbaum
date time location fee age code
date Melton: The Star and The Crescent: A History of Jewish- Muslim Relations
Thursdays, 08.25.2022 - 10.27.2022 (10 sessions)
time 10:00 am - 11:30 am
location Virtual fee Member $220.00
Community $260.00
age 18 - 120 Years code #49433 Continue to Registration
Schedule
Thursday, August 25, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Thursday, September 1, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Thursday, September 8, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Thursday, September 15, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Thursday, September 22, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Thursday, September 29, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Thursday, October 6, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Thursday, October 13, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Thursday, October 20, 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Thursday, October 27, 10:00 am - 11:30 am