Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
or Esc

Romans & Jews & Christians, Oh My! Judaism, Romans, & The Rise of Christianity

view options Between the first century B.C.E. and the fourth century C.E., Judaism went from being a “religio licita”, a legal religion of the Roman Empire (Roman legions even guarded the caravans carrying the Temple Tax to Jerusalem) to an increasingly marginalized and suspect one.
During roughly the same period, from the first century C.E. onward, Christianity transformed from a small Jewish sect, to an illegal and persecuted new religion, to the official religion in the Roman Empire.
This course traces the emergence and development of Christianity and Jewish responses to it, as Christianity transformed from as a Jewish sect to the official religion of the Roman Empire.
Instructor: Dr. Edward Queen
date time location fee age code
date Romans & Jews & Christians, Oh My! Judaism, Romans, and The Rise of Christianity
Wednesdays, 08.21.2024 - 12.18.2024 (15 sessions)
time 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
location MJCCA Zaban Park fee Member $270.00
Community $300.00
age 18 - 120 Years code #55496 Continue to Registration
Schedule
Wednesday, August 21, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Wednesday, August 28, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Wednesday, September 4, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Wednesday, September 11, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Wednesday, September 18, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Wednesday, September 25, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Wednesday, October 9, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Wednesday, October 23, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Wednesday, October 30, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Wednesday, November 6, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Wednesday, November 13, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Wednesday, November 20, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Wednesday, December 4, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Wednesday, December 11, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Wednesday, December 18, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm